European Commission removes Indonesian airlines from blacklist

The European Commission updated the EU Air Safety list on June 14, 2018, removing all airlines from Indonesia. Meanwhile, Eurocontrol deployed a system that automatically detects any banned aircraft entering the European Union airspace.

The decision follows safety improvements from the country airlines. Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc declared: “I am particularly glad that after years of work, we are today able to clear all air carriers from Indonesia. It shows that hard work and close cooperation pay off.” In 2007, the European Commission issued a ban for all Indonesian airlines. Only seven were since removed from the blacklist, including national airline Garuda Indonesia. The new update from the European Commission saw more than fifty airlines being reapproved in the European Union airspace.

Following the update, 119 airlines remain blacklisted, either because of unreliable local civil aviation authorities or safety concerns regarding specific airlines. Six companies, including Iran Air and North Korean Air Koryo, are targeted by a partial ban on their fleet, due to safety concerns regarding certain aircraft.

The European Organization for the Safety of Air Navigation, also known as Eurocontrol, deployed a new system that automatically prevents unsafe aircraft from entering European airspace by informing the Air Traffic Controllers of all Member States that an unauthorized aircraft is attempting to enter the Union. The concerned authorities are then able to intercept it.

Source – AeroTime News Hub